July 2017

July 12, 2017
The Academic Leadership Program is a Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) program designed to help talented and diverse faculty further develop their ability to be effective academic leaders at their current institutions, or in the future at other major research institutions. Many past participants in the program have gone on to successful careers as Deans, Provosts, Chancellors, and Presidents of major colleges and universities.

June 2017

June 23, 2017
The Chancellor’s Scholar initiative was created through the New Brunswick Strategic Plan to recognize truly outstanding and highly promising scholars at Rutgers University–New Brunswick who are currently at the associate professor level. As a Chancellor’s Scholar, Ramachandran will receive $5,000 annually for innovative research initiatives and/or program development for up to five years.
June 2, 2017
Prof. Ierapetritou has been awarded a Greek Diaspora Fellowship from the Institute of International Education. She will be working in collaboration with Aristotle University in Greece for two weeks this summer as a mentor, adviser, and teacher in the area of process systems engineering. The program encourages the international exchange of ideas and greater understanding between people and cultures.   

May 2017

May 2, 2017
Professor Helen Buettner has won the 2016-2017 Professor of the Year award for Chemical and Biochemical Engineering. The annual award is conferred by the Engineering Governing Council (EGC) to recognize professors who go above and beyond in their teaching and commitment to students. Selection of recipients is based on a survey of the undergraduate engineering student body. Professor Buettner was presented with the award at the EGC Leadership Conference on April 23rd.

April 2017

April 14, 2017
Congratulations to Neharika Bhandari for her nomination to compete for the Undergraduate Student Employee of the Year. She has worked in the Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering for two years as the IT assistant. We are thankful to have her and hope she will be with us until she graduates.   
April 14, 2017
Congratulations Ayman, Ajay and Rachel! 1st Place (tie): Ayman Saleh Unraveling the Molecular Interacting Bewteen Homogeneous Lewis Acid Catalyst Species and Glucose Via Raman Spectroscopy Under the direction of Dr. George Tsilomelekis 1st Place (tie): Rachel Yang High Pressure Temerature Annealed TiO2 for Photocatalytic Biomass Reforming Under the direction of Dr. Fuat Celik 2nd Place: Ajay Kashi Electrochemical Surface Area Dependence Ni5P4 Under the direction of Dr. Gerard Dismukes
April 5, 2017
The NJ AIChE section sponsors these awards for Rutgers chemical and biochemical engineering junior and senior students in recognition of not only their excellent academic performance but also student leadership, volunteer work, research experience and achievements.  The below awards were presented at the Student Awards Dinner & Mixer on March 22, 2017. We congratulate the award winners for their achievements.

March 2017

March 30, 2017
Sagar Y. Patel Class of 2018 Awarded 2017 Dittman/Lebo Scholarship
March 22, 2017
Prof. Hara and coworkers received a grant form NSF for undergraduate research. The award is $324,900 for three years, starting May 1, 2017. The title is "REU Site: Advanced Materials at Rutgers Engineering."  The total of ten faculty members from CBE and MSE departments will participate. Dr. Hara (CBE) is director and Dr. Lehman (MSE) is co-director. The objective of the NSF-REU activity is to provide unique opportunities for a diverse population of undergraduate students to conduct cutting-edge, cross-disciplinary research in the field of Advanced Materials
March 20, 2017
At the Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering and under the direction of research team-lead Nina Shapley, associate professor in the department, environmentally sustainable fabric dyes are among the next wave of innovation at Rutgers engineering. Jane Palmer, a Los Angeles textile designer, has a passion for using natural and environmentally friendly dyes to color fabrics. During the last six years, she’s gained a loyal following among high-end boutique clothing and housewares designers.